
Comparison of Earned Sick and Safe Time and Paid Leave

To receive updates about the Minnesota Paid Leave program,  
visit our website and sign up to receive email notifications.

Earned Sick and Safe Time Paid Leave
Purpose Allow for accrual and use of paid time off and 

provide job protections for employees who are 
unable to work due to a qualifying reason.

Provide job protections and partial wage 
replacement for individuals unable to work due to a 
qualifying condition lasting at least seven days.

Program start date Jan. 1, 2024 (in effect). Jan. 1, 2026.

Qualifying reasons Medical: employee’s mental or physical illness, 
treatment or preventive care
Caring: family member’s mental or physical 
illness, treatment or preventive care
Safety: domestic assault, sexual abuse or stalking
Closings: employee’s workplace or their family 
member’s school or place of care closes due to 
weather or a public emergency
Communicable disease: when an employee or a 
family member is at risk of infecting others with  
a communicable disease
Bereavement: arrange or attend a funeral or 
memorial or address financial or legal matters  
that arise after the death of a family.

Medical: employee’s mental or physical illness, 
treatment
Caring: family member’s mental or physical illness, 
treatment
Safety: domestic assault, sexual abuse or stalking
Parental leave: bond with a new child after birth, 
foster or adoption
Active duty: family member on active duty or 
notified of impending order
A health care provider or designated professional 
must certify the need for leave

Covered employers Nearly all Minnesota employers, regardless of 
business size or number of employees.

Nearly all Minnesota employers, regardless of 
business size or number of employees.

Covered employees Employees who have worked at least 80 hours  
in a year for an employer in Minnesota.

Employees who have earned at least 5.3% of the 
statewide average annual wage (about $3,600 in 
2023) in the past year.

Who is not required 
to participate?

The law has limited exceptions.  
Visit sickleave.mn.gov for details.

Independent contractors, federal employees, self-
employed individuals, and designated seasonal 
hospitality employees who work fewer than 150 days.

Amount of leave 
each year

An employee earns one hour for every 30 
hours worked and can earn up to 48 hours each 
year. Employers can choose to provide a more 
generous sick and safe time policy.

In a benefit year, an employee is eligible for a 
maximum of 12 weeks of family leave, 12 weeks 
of medical leave, or a combination of the two not 
exceeding 20 weeks.

Payment during  
a leave

An employee is paid by their employer at  
their base rate when they take earned sick  
and safe time; these funds come directly from 
the employer.

An employee is paid a benefit by the state following 
an application and verification of eligibility. The Paid 
Leave program will be funded through employer 
and employee premiums starting in 2026.

Where to go for 
more information

sickleave.mn.gov paidleave.mn.gov
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https://paidleave.mn.gov
https://paidleave.mn.gov/

